Scene 1 Take 3: Lisa Cholodenko – From High Art to Olive Kitteridge

In my last blog, I wrote about how Kimberly Peirce influenced my younger, aspiring filmmaker, self. Around the same time I saw Peirce’s Boys Don’t Cry, I had also seen another independent film called High Art – Lisa Cholodenko’s break out film starring Ally Sheedy, Radha Mitchell, and Patricia Clarkson. High Art is a tragic lesbian love story about a straight girl who falls in love with a drug addicted photographer who happens to be a woman.

At that time, I was about a senior in high school and was questioning my own sexuality; pretty much just denying that I had any sexuality what so ever. I knew I wanted to end up with a woman, some day, but without the sex, just nice cuddling. When I first saw High Art, I was seeing something that mainstream media had never given me the opportunity to see, two women falling in love with each other.  It felt like a hungry part of me was finally being fed. I think a lot of queer people can relate to this feeling of finally seeing people like themselves being portrayed on the big screen.

Radha Michtell and Ally Sheedy in High Art

One thing I didn’t like about this film was the drug addiction part. It was too real. I wanted it to be like other Hollywood films, where I could escape away from the harsh realities of the living and enter this love story. I don’t want to give away too much of the film for those of you who haven’t seen it yet, but I will say that I didn’t like the ending. So, what I did was rewrite my own ending, one that I would have felt fulfilled watching. That was one of my first attempts at any kind of writing for film.

Other than the ending, High Art, was a groundbreaking film for me in my young life. The first time I watched it was with my mom and sisters. I hadn’t told them my deep feelings for girls, but they were still open enough to watch it with me, without saying anything crude or homophobic. Their reactions helped me begin to feel that the secrets in my heart may not be wrong.

Lisa Cholodenko with Frances McDormand

Cholodenko moved on to make several more films, including Laurel Canyon and The Kids Are All Right.  Most recently she has directed the HBO miniseries Olive Kitteridge, starring one of my favorite living actresses, Frances McDormand. I am extremely looking forward to seeing this film. The previews look amazing. It just played on HBO, and I would have been ready with popcorn to watch it when it aired but I do not have the means for cable television. I still fight with rabbit ears to make sure the local channel gets the right reception so that I can watch the Voice every Monday and Tuesday.

For any of you who have HBO, find out when Olive Kitteridge is going to play again and watch it. This is the best way to support woman filmmakers, by watching their films. As soon as I find out how I can get my eyes on it I am going to. I wouldn’t doubt if this film gets several Golden Globe nominations. The story looks epic and amazing.

Thank you, Lisa Cholodenko, for your great contribution to the film industry and to my growth as a human being. Please keep making films and inspiring.

Leave a comment